> Folk Music > Records > Various Artists: Shine On: John Lennon’s 75th

Shine On: John Lennon’s 75th

Various Artists: Shine On: John Lennon’s 75th

Shine On: John Lennon’s 75th
Various Artists

(digital download, UK, 9 October 2015)

To celebrate what would have been John Lennon’s 75th birthday, professional session drummer Stephen MacLachlan decided to enlist the help of a few musician pals and record a couple of Lennon’s songs. Once word got out, the project grew into an eight song album featuring 20 artists and Stephen decided it should be available for purchase. Everyone involved with the project donated their time and services and the proceeds from the album will be going to Help Musicians UK, a charity that has been assisting musicians in the UK since 1921 and came through for Steve when he needed them.


Contributing artists include award winning folk artist Lucy Ward, critically acclaimed singer songwriters Jess Morgan, Ruth de Turberville (cellist and singer for Laura Marling, Ellie Goulding and Alessi’s Ark), Canadian blues legend Tim Lee (lap steel on [6]), Paul Schofield (musical director for Ruthie Henshall), Griff Jameson (Fred’s House) and Claudia Mackenzie (4th Labyrinth), as well as many local musicians.

See also the singers shown in the tracklist. Sorry but I don’t know who the other of the 20 musicians are. Digital download albums are notoriously unhelpful in providing detailed information.


  1. Paul Schofield: Nobody Told Me (3.36)
  2. Nick Lowe: Woman (3.57)
  3. Jess Morgan: Jealous Guy (3.49)
  4. Lucy Ward: Working Class Hero (4.47)
  5. Reuben Kemp: Cold Turkey (5.06)
  6. Zoe MacLachlan: Beautiful Boy (3.07)
  7. Griff Jameson: Instant Karma (3.28)
  8. Paul Schofield: Whatever Gets You Thru the Night (3.46)

All tracks written by John Lennon