> Folk Music > Records > The Irish R.M.

The Irish R.M.

The Irish R.M. (ABC L 38163)

The Irish R.M.
Themes, Jigs and Melodies from the Television Series The Irish R.M.
based on the works of Somerville and Ross
Various Artists

Ritz Records LP0011 (LP, UK, 1982)
ABC Records L 38163 (LP, Australia, 1984)

Album produced and music composed by Nick Bicât;
Conducted and arranged by Tony Britten;
With traditional music performances by De Danann;
Executive production and co-ordination: Michael McDonagh;
Recorded at Lomnard Studios Dublin, engineer Philip Begley
and at Olympic Studios London, engineers Keith Grant and Nigel Brooke-Harte


David Arnold: percussion;
Tony Britten: piano, harmonium, harpsichord;
Dermot Crehan: fiddle;
Jackie Daly, Jack Emblow, Sean Gavin, John Kirkpatrick: accordion, melodeon;
Steve Dent, Johnny McDonagh, Mick Taylor: bodhrán;
Mike Dore: French horn;
Howard Evans: trumpet;
Andy Findon: whistle, flute;
Frankie Gavin: fiddle, whistle;
Cath Giles, Martin Loveday, Tony Pleeth, Nigel Warren-Green: cello;
Steve Keavy: trumpet, flugelhorn, cornet;
Declan Masterton: uilleann pipes;
Paul Nieman, Roger Williams: trombone;
Bob White: uilleann pipes, whistle


Side 1

  1. Major Yeates’ Fancy—Title Theme (Haste to the Wedding) (2.02)
  2. The Teetotaller (3.15)
  3. Sally’s Lament (3.00)
  4. Mrs Cadogan’s Waltz (Mrs Crotty’s) (2.26)
  5. Sheehy’s Runway Foal (Dublin and the Flogging) (3.03)
  6. The Fire at Aussolas (2.50)
  7. Phillipa’s Dance (Stack of Barley) (2.00)

Side 2

  1. Sultan Wins the Race (An Phis Philunch / Hardy Man the Fiddler / Drop of Brandy) (3.55)
  2. Lady Knox and Mrs Knox (2.40)
  3. Skewbawn (Sleieve Na Mhan) (1.50)
  4. Slippers Dance (The Walls of Limerick) (2.14)
  5. Flurry’s Hunt (The Foxhunter’s Slip Jig) (2.02)
  6. The Servants Ball (The Hearty Boys of Ballymoate) (1.58)
  7. Major Yeates’ Fancy / Haste to the Wedding (2.51)

Tracks 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9, 12, 14 Nick Bicat;
Tracks 2, 4, 7, 10-11, 13 trad. arr. De Danann