> John Kirkpatrick > Records > The Dance of the Demon Daffodils

The Dance of the Demon Daffodils

John Kirkpatrick: The Dance of the Demon Daffodils (Fledg’ling FLED 3075)

The Dance of the Demon Daffodils
John Kirkpatrick

Fledg’ling Records FLED 3075 (CD, UK, 15 June 2009)

“A solo instrumental CD consisting entirely of tunes composed by the artist, and performed on the full range of push-pull squeezeboxes. A shameless advert for the JK Tunebook due to be published soon.”
[from John Kirkpatrick’s website]

Recorded 29 January-1 February 2009 at Panda Sound, Robin Hood’s Bay, by Oliver Knight;
Mixed by Oliver Knight and John Kirkpatrick;
Produced by John Kirkpatrick;
Digital mastering by Denis Blackham at Skye Mastering


John Kirkpatrick: vocals, button accordion, Anglo concertina,
one-row four-stop Hohner melodeon, two-row Hohner pokerwork melodeon


  1. The Dance of the Demon Daffodils (3.02)
  2. The Black Stallion / Prasutagus (4.06)
  3. The Three Piece Suite (3.03)
  4. Leaping Jack / Living in Sin / Great Gusto (5.52)
  5. Puddleglum’s Misery / Accordionism / Jump at the Sun (6.24)
  6. Chomping the Barley / The Rat-a-Tat Polka / Benders in the Vestry (5.56)
  7. The Henceforward Lover (3.22)
  8. The Three Speed Plough / The Hafren Hornpipe and a Half / Unchristmas (6.22)
  9. The Source of the Thames (3.02)
  10. Kerlebbeddy’s Hat-Trick / The Singing Devil / The Pineapple Patch (3.11)
  11. Petal of Spice / Blossom Made of Fire (4.39)
  12. Mrs Fox Dances / The Trout in the Crown (4.19)
  13. Shiner (4.39)
  14. Hunting the Deer / The Boar Hunters (4.07)
  15. Footing the Bill / An Unexpected Pleasure (3.39)
  16. The Fork Stuck Under the Door / Fishing on a Bicycle (4.46)

All tracks written by John Kirkpatrick