> Steeleye Span > Records > Adam Catched Eve

Steeleye Span: Adam Catched Eve

v (Boulevard BD 3004)

Adam Catched Eve
Steeleye Span

Boulevard BD 3004 (LP, UK, 1979)

A compilation of songs from the Tim Hart and Maddy Prior solo records and the early Steeleye Span records.


Side 1

  1. False Knight on the Road (Roud 20; Child 3)
  2. Bruton Town (Roud 18; Laws M32)
  3. Maid That’s Deep in Love (Roud 231; Laws N12)
  4. Four Nights Drunk (Roud 114; Child 274; G/D 7:1460; Henry H21ab)
  5. The Lark in the Morning (Roud 151)
  6. Copshawholme Fair (Roud 9131)
  7. The Ploughboy and the Cockney (Roud 1688)

Side 2

  1. Reels: Dowd’s Favourite / £10 Float / The Morning Dew
  2. Prince Charlie Stuart (Roud 3099; Henry H533)
  3. When I Was on Horseback (Roud 2; Laws Q26)
  4. Marrowbones (Roud 183; Laws Q2; G/D 2:318; Henry H174; TYG 6)
  5. Adam Catched Eve
  6. Jigs: Bryan O’Lynn / The Hag with the Money

#1, 5, 9 and 13 were originally released on Please to See the King
#4, 8, 10 and 11 were originally released on Ten Man Mop or Mr Reservoir Butler Rides Again
#2 and 3 were originally released on Tim Hart and Maddy Prior: Folk Songs of Old England Vol. 1
#6 was originally released on Tim Hart and Maddy Prior: Folk Songs of Old England Vol. 2
#7 and 12 were originally released on Tim Hart and Maddy Prior: Summer Solstice


Sleeve lists names of Tim Hart and Maddy Prior on the back, but not the other members of Steeleye Span. As this release comes with no extra information whatsoever (that is: no inserts, no lyrics, no photos, nothing!) it may be safely assumed this record was a bootleg of early Steeleye Span (and Hart/Prior) works. Maddy Prior is quoted in the liner notes of the CD reissue of Folk Songs of Old England Vol. 1 that “Tony Pike [the producer of the two Folk Songs LPs] died...and the albums passed through the hands of several shortlived companies...” Boulevard Records seems to have been one of those companies intent on cashing in on the success of Steeleye Span in the mid-70s and the confusion over the future of Steeleye Span when they parted ways in 1978. In fact, the only other piece of information possibly worth researching is the label Shannon Records (based in London) of which Boulevard was a subsidiary.

[Matthias Bock]